Pastors | Saint Anthony's Church | Shrine | Rosary Mysteries
Prayers | Bulletin | Saints | Links | Photo Gallery

Our Lady of Lebanon Shrine

Leamington, Ontario

Special Events
Our Lady of Lebanon Festival 2013

November, 1977:

- Establishment of Our Lady of Lebanon Auxiliary


  • To establish a project of constructing a shrine of Our Lady of Lebanon duplicating that in Harissa, Lebanon.
  • To keep alive the Lebanese tradition of devotion to Mother Mary.

1978 – 1980:

  • Collection of donations for project from the Leamington Lebanese Community (as main supporter), Venezuelan, Lebanese Community, Ottawa, Toronto, Detroit, Windsor and surrounding communities.

May, 1981:

  • Ground Breaking Ceremony ( beginning of the construction of the Shrine.

May, 1983:

  • Arrival and positioning of the statue of Our Lady of Lebanon (accompanied by Italian Sculpture, Rino Grazzi)
  • Description of statue: White Carrara marble; 145 feet high weighing 12 tons sitting on a conical base of concrete 42 feet in height and totaling just under 60 feet with a spiraling staircase to allow accessibility.

May 22, 1983:

  • Celebration to commemorate the Unveiling of the Statue and blessing by His Excellency the Bishop of Saint Maron Diocese of Canada, Bishop Elias Shaheen.


  • Keeping alive the tradition of devotion to our Mother Mary with Annual Liturgical Celebration of Prayer and Feasting.

1983 - Present:

  • Committed work of committed members of Our lady of Lebanon Auxiliary of the Leamington Lebanese Club, Ontario, Canada.

June, 1999:

  • Building of the Stations of the Cross outside of the Shrine, motivated by the love they have for the Prayers related to these Stations.

August, 1999:

  • Blessing of the Stations of the Cross by His Excellency Mgr. Joseph Khoury during the Assumption Festival.

President and Officers of Our Lady of Lebanon Auxiliary
Serving from: December, 1993 - January 6th, 2000:

Mrs. Emal Sleiman: President
Mrs. Therese Raheb: Vice President
Mrs. Rosette Jraige: Treasurer
Mrs. Marie Obeid: Prayer Leader
Mrs. Bernadette Jraige: Secretary

Bishop Committee:

Mrs. Rita Tannous
Mrs. Micheline Nouhra
Mrs. Julia Raffoul

January 7th, 2000:

The Election held on this day resulted in favor of :

Mrs. Souad Jacobs: President
Mrs. Adele Thomas: Vice President
Mrs. Batty Saad: Treasurer
Mrs. Khazzoun Yacoub: Prayers Leader
Mrs. Najibe Mikhail: Secretary

Bishop Committee:

Mrs. Sharife Jabbour (also Vice President of Prayers Leader)
Mrs. Anne Semaan
Mrs. Martha Eid

For administration information, you can call:

Mrs. Souad Jacobs (President) @ (519) 326-8291
Mailing Address: 16 Sherwood Ave., Leamington, On.,
N8H 4T8
Mrs. Najibe Mikhail (Secretary) @ (519) 326-4938
Mailing Address: 29 Cambridge Cres., Leamington, On.,
N8H 4R7

Stations of the cross

Top of Page